Rush - Presto
Atlantic  (1989)
Progressive Rock

In Sammlung

CD    11 tracks  (52:09) 
   01   Show Don't Tell             05:01
   02   Chain Lightning             04:33
   03   The Pass             04:50
   04   War Paint             05:24
   05   Scars             04:07
   06   Presto             05:46
   07   Superconductor             04:47
   08   Anagram (For Mongo)             03:59
   09   Red Tide             04:30
   10   Hand Over Fist             04:10
   11   Available Light             05:02
UPC (Barcode) 066825210598
Digital/Analog DDD
Audio-Kanäle Stereo
Date of US Release November 1989

After being slagged off for the electronic ambience of its predecessor releases such as 1985's Power Windows and 1984's Grace Under Pressure, Rush bounces back with their 13th release, Presto. Yet again the prog-rock trio proves that their tight guitar work and lyrical originality is not long lost or overlooked in an attempt to secure the latest technical flash.
Rupert Hine's production work totally brings things to the forefront by molding solid piano breaks instead of the typical adventure-like synthesizers into Alex Lifeson's spellbinding guitar work. The sound quality is strong and thick, making the sounds of Presto complete. Neil Peart also makes headway with his natural percussion power, and Geddy Lee's trademark lyrical complexities shine like signature Rush perfectionism. Songs like "Scars" and "Superconductor" are sonically firm, but "Show Don't Tell" is the album's infectious standout that's heightened thanks to Lee's stunning vocal wizardry. Presto intelligently leads Rush into the '90s without musical bleakness. They weren't ones to be blinded by such creative mediocrity anyway.
© 1989 Atlantic Recording Corporation and Anthem Entertainment

Music by Lee and Lifeson
Lyrics by Peart

Produced by Rupert Hine and Rush
Engineered by Stephen W. Taylor
Arrangements by Rush and Rupert Hine

Recorded June - August 1989
Le Studio, Moring Heeights, assisted by Simon Pressey and
Jacques Deveau
McClear Place, Toronton, assisted by
Rick Anderson
Mixed September 1989 at Metropolis, London, assisted by
Matt Howe

Additional keyboards by Rupert Howe and Jason Sniderman
Additional background vocals by Rupert Hine
Preproduction work at Chalet Studio, engineered by Lerxst, assisted
by Everett Ravenstein
Technical support from Liam Birt, Jack Secret, Jim Johnson,
Larry Allen, and Jim Burgess, with continuing thanks to Herns,
Skip, Nick, Whitey, Schatzie... and the rest.

Mastered by Bob Ludwig, Masterdisk NYC

Brought to you by the letter "D"

We appreciate technical contributions from Saved By Technology,
Wal Basses, Signature Guitars, Ludwig Drums, Avedis Zildjian
Cymbals, Solid Percussion, and - The Omega Concern.